Association for Dental Education in Europe

Learning together to improve oral health and quality of life

You are here

ADEE Excellence in Dental Education Mature Career Award 2019 Presented to Dr. Peter Fine UCL

At the ADEE Awards Celebration Evening in Berlin German on Thursday 22nd August 2019 the 2019 ADEE Mature Career Educator award was presented to Dr Peter D Fine PhD Principal Teaching Fellow, UCL Eastman Dental Institute, London United Kingdom.

Having spent 40 years in general dental practice, in 2008 Peter turned his attention to academic practice when he secured a teaching role at University College London, Eastman Dental Institute. This led him to undertake a PhD, looking at the impact of postgraduate dental education on clinical practice for which he received an ADEE 40th Anniversary Scholarship Award in 2016.

Excellence in Dental Education Mature Career Award 2019 Presented to Dr. Peter Fine

Since completing of his PhD, Peter has supervised over 40 student projects and currently is supervising a cohort of 10 candidates.  His own current research and areas of interest include: delivery of feedback to students, the role of reflection in dental education and different approaches to assessment. His work at UCL has included: Designing and undertaking educational research projects, including reflective learning, student feedback and the role of confidence in education;  Designing and delivering a new curriculum to facilitate conversion of a part-time 5 year Master’s restorative programme to a 3 year programme and the Developing a series of six seminars to introduce new clinical teachers to the challenges of teaching.

Peter has been a long term support of the work of ADEE where he has led/co-chaired sessions, presented posters and special interest groups since 2010.  He is also co author/collaborator on a number of articles and works published in the European Journal of Dental Education. 

Pictured is Dr Peter Fine being recognised with the 2019 ADEE Mature Excellence in Dental Education Award by ADEE President Prof Stephanie Tubert Jeannine and ADEE Excellence in Dental Education Committee Chair Dr Ronald Gorter.

© ADEE 2019

Design & Development: Brag, Design & Digital